2007 national awards

26 October, 2007

the winners of the 2007 RAIA national architecture awards have been announced, Victorian winners are (there are too many to lists them all, hence the parochialism):

  • John Curtin School of Medical Research – Stage 1 Redevelopment (ANU, Canberra, ACT): Lyons
  • Cape Schanck House (Mornington Peninsular, VIC): Paul Morgan Architects
  • Yve Apartments (St.Kilda, Melbourne, VIC): Wood Marsh Architecture
  • Southern Cross Station (Spencer Street, Melbourne, VIC): Grimshaw Jackson JV
  • Manchester Civil Justice Centre (Manchester, England): Denton Corker Marshall
  • SOHO Shangdu (Beijing, China): LAB architecture studio
  • Eureka Tower (Melbourne, VIC): Fender Katsalidis (Aust) Pty Ltd
  • 1010 LaTrobe Street (Docklands, Melbourne, VIC): ARM
  • Great Smith Aussie Home (Blackrock, Melbourne, VIC): Cassandra Complex
  • Council House 2 (CH2) (Melbourne CBD, VIC): City of Melbourne + DesignInc Melbourne
  • Stage One ACE, Kangan Batman TAFE (Docklands, Melbourne, VIC): Lyons
  • Park Street House (Fitzroy North, Melbourne, VIC): Robert Simeoni Pty Ltd Architects

a few surprises there. something i find really interesting was in The Age article about the awards: “The cautionary tale of 2007, the jury said, was that the economic boom created a strong market for ideas, and yet perversely also meant quality sometimes suffered in the drive for higher profits.”

this is something i’ve heard from a few people. basically it seems that thanks to a fat, fast economy, there is a push to get things finished really quickly so that the developers can move onto the next project. which is fair enough, but when the buildings aren’t finished properly it’s pretty stupid. it seems that this also stems from the fact that architects are no longer in control of the project, that’s left to project managers at the developer’s end.

i can’t help but wonder if it will come back to bite them on the backside when poorly finished buildings start to show wear very badly, very soon.

but enough of that, congrats to the winners.